• From One To Twelve

    This programme brings together liturgical music from various ages in a liturgy-like framework, inviting the audience to be a part of an hour-long sound-piety. This is an eclectic compilation by design that’s being transcendentally organic at the same time. We set off at the ancient monody and arrive at the multi-part motets of our time with an extra part joining in with every piece. Between the compositions there are percussion interludiums that stand as sonic echoes for the prayers of the sung pieces.

    Length: 55 min


    • Preludium
    • Alfonso el Sabio: Rosa das Rosas – Medieval cantiga
    • Interludium I
    • Traditional (arr. György PHILIPP): Al Masíh o qam – Resurrection hymn from Lebanon
    • Interludium II
    • Traditional (arr. Márk BUBNÓ): Mamao chveno – Georgian paraliturgical chant Saint Ephraim
    • Interludium III
    • Igor STRAVINSKY: Otche nash & Bogoroditse Devo
    • Interludium IV
    • Pavel TCHESNOKOV: Zhertva vechernaja (Psalm 140)
    • Interludium V
    • László SÁRY: Sing unto the Lord – six-part psalm canon Saint Ephraim
    • Interludium VI
    • Thomas TALLIS: Miserere nostri  Saint Ephraim
    • Interludium VII
    • Béla BARTÓK: Est
    • Interludium VIII
    • Péter ZOMBOLA: Gospodi, kak umnozhilis (Psalm 3) Saint Ephraim
    • Interludium IX
    • Barnabás DUKAY: Aludjatok (Sleep)
    • Interludium X
    • Sergey RACHMANINOV: Hexapsalmos – from the All-Night Vigil
    • Interludium XI
    • Tamás BUBNÓ: Have merc on me, O God (Psalm 50)
  • From Bartók to Bartók

    At this concert we hear a repertoire for male voice that is representative of Bartók’s great oeuvre with the folk music that was its source of inspiration. While the folk music antecedents of the male choir compositions are invoked in various forms, either on a projected screen with English commentary or live, on stage. Saint Ephraim Male Choir performs all six works by Bartók composed for male choir. The programme reflects the complex relationship of Bartók’s musical language and folk music, or as he liked to call it: peasant music.  From the late-romantic Evening, through the Hungarian and Slovak folk song cycles we arrive at the complex poliphonic structures of Székely Folk Songs and From Olden Times which is a highly demanding piece in terms of technical preparedness and artistic expression.

    Length: 60 min


    • Bartók Béla: Evening (BB30) Saint Ephraim
    • Bartók Béla: Four Ancient Hungarian Folk Songs (BB 60, version 1)
    • Bartók Béla: Slovak Folk Songs (BB 77)
    • Bartók Béla: Székely Folk Songs (BB 106)
    • Bartók Béla: From Olden Times (BB 112)
    • Bartók Béla: Four Ancient Hungarian Folk Songs (BB 60, version 2)


    Technical equipment: a projector, screen and high-quality PA system is needed for the video clips played between the pieces

    Additional guests: For the illustration of the various folk music parallels Saint Ephraim Male Choir could invite either the Muzsikás Folk Ensemble or Balázs Szokolay-Dongó as guest musicians. Contact us for further information.


  • Byzantine Mozaics

    Byzantine Mosaics is a consciously eclectic concert programme in its style, form and musical formulation – just like the world of the Byzantine rite. The coherence that glitters through this diversity cannot be expressed, nor defined rationally. It has its origin in the Christian faith itself and in particular in one of its most amazing manifestations: the Byzantine rite, the Byzantine liturgy. The pieces in this programme are offered as a musical setting for a Byzantine act of worship. In places the vocal material is interrupted by instrumental interludes enhancing either thematic coherence or detachment.

    Length: 50-70 min

    The compositions in this programme are ranging from ancient Greek and Middle-Eastern monody, through early Znamenny poliphony and the great Russian romantic composers (Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Bortniansky) to the exceptionally rich selection of pieces in the 20th century.


  • Hungarian music history – for male choir

    An anthology

    A quite remarkable, yet not very well-known repertory taken from Hungarian music history is featured in this programme – from Gregorian chant to contemporary composers. You can listen to works of internationally renowned masters like Pál Eszterházy, János Boksay, Ferenc Erkel, Franz Liszt, Béla Bartók or Zoltán Kodály.  This journey through music history draws to its close with contemporary music by György Ligeti, László Sáry, Barnabás Dukay, Péter Zombola.

    Length: 60 min

    The actual programme is always designed for the occassion. Compositions in the programme include:

    • Eszterházy: Harmonia caelestis (excerpts)
    • Liszt: Für Männergesang
    • Boksay: Liturgy of Saint John Chrysostom (Blessed be the name of the Lord Saint Ephraim
    • Kodály: Hymn to St Stephen
    • Sáry: Psalm canon
    • Zombola: Psalm 3, Otche Nash
  • Franz Liszt: Requiem

    The Requiem is the last of Liszt’s mass compositions. The piece was composed for male choir, organ and brass ensemble ad libitum. Though the Requiem might seem to be a puritan piece of work yet it is scorchingly expressive and uses a highly concise and to-the-point musical language. Especially the solo parts are highly demanding as the maestro utilizes the enharmonic-chromatic style that is so very well known from his late works.

    Length: 55 min